Cinnamon Rolls!

My daughters spent a couple nights with their grandmother, and unfortunately, my oldest came home sick.  Fever, lethargy, nausea, and just a general feeling of blah.

I thought she might enjoy something sweet and homemade, and the Cinnamon Roll recipe I found at Allrecipes.com  sounded like it would be a good fit.  It had simple ingredients, used a bread machine to do the majority of the work, and it didn’t take long to do.

I started throwing the ingredients into the bread machine pan, and found out that I DIDN’T have a package of vanilla pudding mix.  The husband had the car, and besides, I don’t like taking the kids out when they’re sick, so I used some Bird’s Custard powder.  Now, the recipe says half a package of pudding, and then gives 3.4 oz as a size.  I admit, I had a bit of a brain fart, and weighed out 3.4 ounces, rather than 1.7 ounces like I should have.   When I started the bread machine, I noticed that the dough was a bit on the dry side, so I added in a little water while it mixed until it looked right. 
My bread machine takes 1 hour and 50 minutes on the dough setting, so I had some time to work on laundry (oh joy!).  Once the dough cycle was finished, I rolled out the dough, spread the filling over it, and rolled it up.  After a bit of time to rise again, I popped it into the oven to bake for approximately 20 minutes.  Topped with the frosting, it was a total hit.  And, even with my goof with the custard powder, the roll itself tasted great.

I plan on using my Food Saver to vacuum seal most of these for placement in the deep freeze.  That way, next time the urge to have a sweet hits, all I need to do is pull a couple out and microwave.

Image

2 thoughts on “Cinnamon Rolls!

Leave a Reply

